

## \$ \$ \$ \$ \$ \$ \$ \$ \$ \$ \$ \$ TRAFFIC FINES 2013



Base Fee + Surcharges Traffic Fines Doubled in Construction Zones

CVC= California Vehicle Code

## **MOTORISTS**

Running a Red Light...\$490 (CVC 21453)

Failure to stop at a Stop sign...\$238 (CVC 22450)

Violation of "Yield" sign...\$238 (CVC 21803)

Not yielding to pedestrians in crosswalk...\$238 (CVC 21950)

Not yielding to blind pedestrians in crosswalk...\$2,125 (CVC 21963)

Reckless Driving...\$684 (CVC 23103)

Reckless Driving -- Bodily Injury...\$1,510 to \$3,150 (CVC 23104, 23105)

Changing Lanes unsafely...\$238 (CVC 21658)

Unsafe speed, 1 to 15 miles over the limit...\$238 (CVC 22350)

Unsafe speed, 16 to 25 miles over the limit...\$367 (CVC 22450)

Unsafe speed, 26 or more miles over the limit...\$490 (CVC 22350)

Driving while using a wireless phone not hands free...\$162 (CVC 23123)

Driving while using a wireless phone to send, read, or write text...\$162 (CVC 23123.5)

Driving with headsets or ear plugs over BOTH ears...\$25 to \$197(CVC 27400)

Not wearing seat belt - adult...\$162 (CVC 27315)

Not wearing seat belt - child under 16...\$490 (CVC 27360.5)

Violation of disabled parking provisions...\$1,105 (CVC 22507.8)

Parking in a bus loading area...\$1,105 (CVC 22500)

## BICYCLISTS

Failing to stop at a Stop sign or Red Light...up to \$238 (CVC 22450)

Cycling with headsets or ear plugs over BOTH ears...\$25 to \$197 (CVC 27400)

Cycling without a helmet, under 18...\$197(CVC 21212), over 18...UCPD discretion

Not yielding to pedestrians in crosswalk...\$238 (CVC 21950)

Not yielding to blind pedestrians in crosswalk...\$2,125 (CVC 21963)

## **PEDESTRIANS**



Jaywalking...\$197 (CVC 21955)

Crossing at red light...\$197 (CVC 21453)

Source: Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules 2013 Edition (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 4.102) Judicial Council of California

Tenn. Gock\_June 2013